The Café Royal opened in Edinburgh on July 8th, 1863 and replaced an earlier Café Royal that opened in 1826 across the road. The Victorian and Baroque interior hasn’t changed much and is full of stained glass, Victorian plasterwork and unique Doulton ceramic murals painted by John Eyre. According to the pub’s website, they were purchased by an early licensee J. McIntyre Henry from the 1886 International Exhibition of Industry, Science and Art, which was held on Edinburgh’s meadows.
This photo is copyrighted and cannot be used without permission. For licensing information, please contact us.